skip to content

Logo for Max Planck Cambridge Prize for International LawMax Planck-Cambridge Prize for International Law

The Prize and its Aim

With the generous contribution of its supporting members, the Max Planck Society has established the Max Planck-Cambridge Prize for International Law (MaxCamPIL), a research prize which highlights the relevance of fundamental research in the field of international law.

Its aim is to identify an outstanding mid-career legal scholar who has not only made an outstanding contribution to the study of international law but who is likely to continue to engage in substantial, innovative and cutting-edge research. It is intended to highlight and support his/her work and to provide a model of academic excellence for younger scholars.

The Awarding Institutions

The MaxCamPIL is awarded jointly by the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law (MPIL) and the Lauterpacht Centre for International Law (LCIL) at the University of Cambridge. Both institutions are well-established in the field of International Law and share a core mission in nurturing younger scholars.

The Awarding Procedure and Ceremony

Starting from 2019, the prize will be awarded every two years. The Selection Committee has eight members and is composed of one Director and three postdoctoral researchers from each institution. The Committee will be chaired alternately by a Director of the MPIL and the Director of the LCIL.

The selection procedure is governed by the Selection Procedure Guidelines (pdf 332.5 KB)

The award ceremony will take place alternately in Heidelberg and Cambridge respectively. A testimonial lecture of the winning scholar will be published in a scholarly journal of international law which will also acknowledge this prize.

Within two years after the prize ceremony, the winning scholar is expected to visit one of the two institutions for a paid stay of one month. They are also expected to visit the respective other institution for a paid stay of at least five days and to hold a guest lecture or seminar.

Previous Award Holders

2023 - Professor Emily Crawford

2021 - Professor Sundhya Pahuja

2019 - Professor Nico Krisch


logo for Lauterpacht Centre for International Law